Memory Lane (Pt 1): Genesis

01holiday-2003-penzan-08
Oxfordshire, 2003

So, this is where it all begins…fresh faced and ready to drive….behind the wheel of a ropey, modified-before-I-bought-it, french POS.

Bought from the most used of used car dealerships and fully equipped with dodgy brakes and a loud exhaust. Despite all the warning signs this was my first ever car…and it was fantastic.

The little PUG brought me freedom, friends, memories and an unshakable bug to fix and modify cars.

dscf6046-copy-featuredShe was a 1994 Peugeot 306 1.6s petrol, wolf race alloys, unknown lowering springs and a custom (but not for this vehicle) Powerflow exhaust.

Owning an old & modified Peugeot guaranteed a quick learning curve in the areas of how to jack a car, axel stands, exhaust putty, bleeding brakes ….and lift off oversteer!

Modifications during these “Max Power” days were desirable, but alas not feasibly affordable whilst still schooling. Instead, some old Bose Hi-Fi speakers chopped into the parcel shelf and my cousin’s bargain of a broken amplifier and subwoofer were all I could muster by cleaning dishes. Acoustic quality was not the game, 2003 was the time for BASS and boy did this setup deliver; it would vibrate your eye balls! 33 Hz is a myth by the way…

Adventure & Freedom

05-09-18122911

Despite all her flaws; many an adventure was had, including a road trip to Brechfa, Wales for the 2005 World Rally Championship.

Watching the legend McRae demolish those welsh roads was a sight to be seen, a true lifetime memory.

Looking back through these memories, my future car ownership was already mapped out! STI & TVR Tuscan would one day become reality.

Rally driving school 3 days after passing your test should be compulsory! I had not so much as done a wheel spin out on the open road, but by the end of this day I would be left foot braking and lift-off oversteering everywhere! Got the 3rd quickest time too if I remember! Brilliant birthday gift.

The Crash

crash

The Pug brought many firsts to my life including my first brush with The Law (fog light fine)…and…my first crash.

This is how the drama unfolded:

[Passenger]: Oh look, they are having a BBQ!

[Driver]: Where?

[Passenger]: Over there.

[Driver]: Oh Yeah,

[Ambience] Screeching sound….smash

1x Damaged Peugeot 306, 1x Damaged Citroen Saxo, 1x Damaged Peugeot 106!

The drama after the crash was vastly out of proportion. Only a tiny amount of damage to the cars however it seemed every emergency unit in Surrey was scrambled.

Even a nearby witness commented “it was only a bump, wtf?” before continuing with his BBQ…

The strangest coincidence occurred 14 years later when my second crash happened just 0.5 miles from the same location! Quite peculiar as this is not a frequent location!

Yet another life lesson learned, you cannot climb up a stack of cars at the scrap yard using the front wheels as steps…ouch!

One scrap headlight later, stacked 3 cars high, she was back on the road. Just my luck the replacement headlight turned out to be from a LHD car, I didn’t notice until the MOT.

Final Thoughts

Breakdowns, crashes, fines, adventure, frustrations, change, freedom, life, laughter, the Pug brought it all with a stereo which could wake the dead. Would I do it again? Absolutely and I wouldn’t change a thing!

Is she still on the road? Alas not, R.I.P M166 XOR you will be remembered well.

Leave a comment