Memory Lane (Pt 3): If in doubt….Flat out!

My first couple of pay cheques in the bank from a “proper” job, it was time to enter the real world of performance cars! With the legend that was McRae, local legend Richard Burns and a few trips to watch the WRC there was no other choice than an Impreza STI. At 21 this was a huge step up in performance and cost!

I picked up a cosmetically poor, but mechanically sounds 1998 Subaru Impreza GC8 mk4 STI. 280bhp and 1200kg. 

This was my first fast car, and crikey did it deliver. No half measures for me, no Clio sports or type Rs. Straight in at full fat rally spec!

Within a month I had completed my first track day at Brands Hatch and acquired a new & more expensive addiction! After a slow start, she was soon lapping everything in sight during the wet and icy conditions.

Another trip to Brands in the snow in quick succession cemented track driving as my no1 priority.

Now with the financial backup to realise my modification dreams I wasted no time with V5 facelift, BC Racing coil-over suspension, the world’s loudest straight through titanium exhaust and decat. Several sets of bodged old TVR AP brakes, and the best mod of all, and Simtek ECU with…ANTI LAG!

Now I could really emulate my WRC heroes around the roads of Berkshire, flames and all.

AWD anti-lag snow drifts? yes, please! Late naughties flip phone video of it..no thanks…aaah go on then.

They put barriers up in this car park after this expedition.

Perhaps it is rose tinted glassed, but I haven’t had a car since which felt as brutal off the line. AWD, and by this point, 300 bhp ensured that.

With the car performing on track well, the weakest link became the driver. Cue the Rockingham skid pan! The subsequent video was used on many forms advertising these events! It was cracking fun, but honestly wasn’t very difficult in an Impreza and I put that down to years spent on Gran Turismo, Forza Motorsport and racing simulators such as iRacing.

Modifying the car, and making it more track suitable was great fun and I even created my first DIY guide. How to fit oil Temp, Oil Pressure and Boost gauges to an STI. 

As great as the STI was, understeer was the name of the game on wet roads, and she quickly became too easy to drive on the track and so made way for something capable of epic skids!

Memories

First trackday at Brands Hatch, 14th Dec 2008

Bovingdon Trackday

June 2009 – An interesting circuit as it is littered with hinkelstein tank stoppers. The damage caused was significant & reminiscent of Petter Solberg.

Brothers in Arms

Sibling rivalry mirrored in car purchases. These were some of the most fun years motoring I have had.

Modifications

AP Racing Brakes, Haywood & Scoot backbox and decat. Simtek ECU with antilag, anti-lift kit, BC Racing coilovers, Gauges.

Leave a comment